Wasting Away: The Four Pounds Of Cheese Praject

I have experienced very little waste. Now at day 7 this is what I did not anticipate. I am buying a lot less food, okay “a lot” comparatively.

Yes, wanting to show how little I waste has led to more awareness of what I already have in my fridge/pantry when I shop. Also friendly reminders to me that there are only two of us to feed. This makes for is a bit more redundancy in our diet, but not enough to cause frustration or dinning out more that usual.

I took this focus when I dined out at well. I usually get the full Caesar with chicken when I go to lunch at Rigatoni’s. I often have a small pile of lettuce left. (Of course the chicken and croutons are gone.) I got the half salad with chicken on Wednesday for lunch. No waste, and I was satisfied, so I can do it again.

This Weeks Waste In Chronological Order:

Beet tops. I’ve heard you can cook them, but I have never ventured into “greens”. Maybe it’s time?

Beet tops: How do you cook them?

Mold on my Parmigiano, cut off. The rest was still good.

Moldy Paraigiano & Romain Core

I forgot my tea on Thursday. *:(

Would have drank it but I get up early, 4:30am, on Friday

Six days of compost and a potato piece that escaped frying.

The potato slice jumped the bowl when I rinsed them.

Chicken guts. I gave my cat the liver when she was alive, the rest has always been waste.

I get the whole chicken, it's the best price per pound.

6 responses to “Wasting Away: The Four Pounds Of Cheese Praject

  1. My husband gets scolded when he gives chicken livers to the cat. They are delicious sauteed with onions in a little butter and olive oil. I also love the neck and heart. The only thing my kitty gets is the gizzards.

  2. I save the giblets to use in stock, except for the liver, which is a lovely treat for either the cat or me! Nice job on the Four Pounds Project, from a fellow participant. :)

  3. What a fantastic idea! I have always complained about the food we waste, but haven’t really been able to reduce it. I may take this challenge myself. Thanks for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

