Giving Up Chocolate For Lent

My good friend AS has suggested give up something for lent. She was raised Catholic, but is not a practitioner. Since we both have daily habits that are not the most healthy we are giving it a go.

For me it’s chocolate/candy. I don’t eat much candy that is not covered or covering chocolate, but I don’t want to just swap out chocolate for some other sugar treat. I have always had a “sweet tooth”, and if my consumption is not every day it’s 6 out of 7. I’m in the middle of a Thin Mints fest right now. So…

I already have gone through some anxiety about this venture. I do know rationally that I can say “screw it” and eat all the chocolate I want, since I know falling off this wagon wont send me to hell. But this is about seeing that I can stop eating chocolate. That I can. That I have control, not my brain. Not the voice in my head that makes suggestions all day long. And the anxiety is kinda funny since I have in the bast given up more challenging substances, like tobacco for one. Still, there is the rebellious teenager inside me that can rear her ugly head when I least expect it. Plus that voice that always suggesting.

My game plan includes:

Teeth brushing, a strategy I used when I quit smoking. It will keep my hands busy for a minute. And I like to keep that fresh brushed feeling.

Water, warm water actually. I find the warm comforting and the water will keep my stomach content.

Activity. In my car it will be belting out what ever song is on the radio. At work I will march in place. Elsewhere I will hoop or march in place. (This my help me drop a pound or two too.)

The active portion is so I don’t let me think “If I had some chocolate I would have more energy from the caffeine.”

So from March 9th till April 17th I will use these tools. So I can see that though I love chocolate, I can live without it.

Tissue play - nothing to do with chocolate *:)

Leave a Reply

